Ruddy Turnstone 1

RUTU_CROP_SM

Initial lines for a breeding plumaged Ruddy Turnstone portrait. I resisted the temptation to do a traditional profile, the kind we see in field guide all the time, and opted for an action shot to suggest its arrival. As it turns out, this bird was my first for my home county of Santa Clara, CA. It was right on the border between my county and the neighboring San Mateo where the bird is routine. I plan on suggesting motion in the wings, perhaps with blurred strokes. And of course, there will be lots of color.

Leave a Reply

