Black-crowned Night Heron 2

Image

This is a complete re-draw of the Black-crowned Night Heron. I’ve been looking at the proportions of the head/neck of last night’s drawing all day, and it’s errors have been bugged me the whole time. I think I may have fixed some of the issues, but problems still exist. The eye, for one thing…. A Heron’s gaze is among the most focussed, intense things I can imagine—like a Hawk’s. If it’s not right… well, it’s just wrong. I know I have much work to do on this portrait, but I like the upright stance and the energy of the hunting bird. Some aspects are good, but many still need fixing.

Leave a Reply

