Lawrence’s Goldfinch (male 5)

Image

Lawrence’s Goldfinch, completed… I think. some people have commented on the dark outline around the bird, suggesting that it is unnecessary, or distracting. I suppose they have a point. I occasionally feel that I need to “firm up” the structure of the bird, and the way I do that is by being very specific with the edges. Enlarged, it probably looks really clunky, but reduced, as it might appear i a field guide I think I like the result. Still, after I have some time to think reflect, I might choose to soften this feature. Between this stage and the last, I have cooled the overall colors and blended the strokes.

Leave a Reply

