Eastern Phoebe (fall migrant)

Image

This Eastern Phoebe portrait totally got away from me! Usually, I prefer to take my time and draw slowly and carefully. Other times I like to draw fast and furious. But I can never tell which method it’s going to be until I start… This was about an hour from “defining line” to completed drawing, I realize it’s rough and inacurate, but I enjoyed losing myself in the bird and drawing it non-stop. Amazingly, it looks very much like the individual we saw in San Jose a few days ago. 

Leave a Reply

