Swamp Sparrow (initial, close up of head)

Image

It occurred to me that this drawing is about 200% life size, measuring about 11 inches wide, and that what I’ve posted isn’t really true-to-life. I tend to work on 17×14 inch paper, often life-size or as in this Swamp Sparrow, larger-than-life. That means the reduced version you see on screen looks more detailed than I could manage on a smaller drawing. My pencil work is not that good… Up close, the actual drawing looks pretty haphazard. I enjoy looking closely at a drawing like this to see all the tiny energetic strokes, even if they aren’t totally controlled. In fact, it looks pretty chaotic. But when reduced… they look ok.

One thought on “Swamp Sparrow (initial, close up of head)

Leave a Reply

