Lewis’s Woodpecker (initial)

Image

Initial work on a Lewis’s Woodpecker portrait. The composition I’ve chosen may not leave much room for the gleaming bottle green iridescence that makes this species so stunning in the wild. I’ll see if I can find a way to keep those colors in the final drawing, despite the angle… In the mean time, I can go to bed knowing the bird is looking at me—giving its permission to continue with the drawing tomorrow. We both rest now. I actually took a stab at this bird last night. My efforts failed and I ended up tearing the drawing up in a fit. Somehow it was easier tonight. I don’t know why. Let’s blame it on the office… I’m planning on working the highlights on the lower wing to get some iridescence. I know the realism may be sacrificed by having light from below, but I sort of want to try.

Leave a Reply

