Wilson’s Snipe (initial)

 Image

Initial work on today’s Wilson’s Snipe portrait. Seems like I’ve abandoned the pale gray Prismatone for my preliminary blocking work, and settled on an old fashioned, ERASABLE NO.2 pencil. It may not allow the same kind of soft shading for the beginning stages, but I like the fact that it doesn’t stay permanently on my paper, highlighting my many errors… I’ve also noticed that it’s hard for me to continue on a drawing until the eye and face seem right—I like to see the bird looking at me before I go further. It’s like I need its permission to continue. Crazy, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

