Buller’s Shearwater

Image

Buller’s Shearwater, or the “gentleman’s Seabird”. Dressed in elegant black and white, with a stately attention to fashion and form, this seems to be many folks’ favorite Tubenose. I have to agree… The form is delicate, slender, refined… so why did I cake on the quick and loose pencil strokes? I don’t really know. I guess I’m trying not to labor over individual feathers and portray more motion and form if possible., even it’s a bit inexact. Maybe I’m just being lazy, but I’m having fun doing it.

Leave a Reply

