Juvenile Short-billed Dowitcher (L. g. caurinus)

Image

I started this juvenile Short-billed Dowitcher portrait too late last night to finish, but will complete it soon. As with all recent drawings I began by making very faint gestures in pale gray to get proportions right. These are simple ovals, angled lines, and boxy shapes. Then, when it began to look right I blocked out a few feather groups on the wings. This is especially important with this species as my intention is to highlight distinctive features in the tertials. A little darker shading on the head helped me recognized the bird in the drawing. Most important for me is to define the eye, and darken it early so that the bird is looking at me as I continue drawing. Without the eye in place and focussed, it’s hard to continue.

2 thoughts on “Juvenile Short-billed Dowitcher (L. g. caurinus)

Leave a Reply

